DIY Tye Dye Converse!

Today I decided to take advantage of the super nice weather and the fact that I’m FINALLY on summer break (*fist pumps* hehe). I took a pair of my old white converse and used sharpies to tye dye them! To learn how to do this fun DIY, keep reading 🙂

IMG_5678 copy

The materials you will need are: any white pair of tennis shoes, sharpie colors of your choice, a syringe (plastic, etc. I found mine from an old hair treatment bottle), and rubbing alcohol

The first thing you need to do is take the shoelaces out of your shoes. This is just to make sure the shoelaces don’t turn colors as well. After doing so, take your first sharpie color and color in numerous dots in a circular shape. Keep the circles about 1 cm apart from each other that way they run onto each other when pouring the alcohol on it. Continue making the circular shape, but alternating colors every so often. I changed colors after every circle I made, but you can do this however you like.

FullSizeRenderIMG_5675

Once you have both shoes completely colored, take your syringe and fill it with the rubbing alcohol. Squirt the alcohol over the dots on each shoe. This will cause the colors to run and give the shoes the tye dye effect. Continue to do this until the shoes look the way you want them to. If there are still white spots left, fill them in with a sharpie color of choice and squirt more alcohol on it. You can also continue to put rubbing alcohol on it to make the circles go away, but I ended up liking the way the circles looked on the shoes!  Once you have them the way you want them, let them sit in the sun to dry. Then ALL DONE!! I love the way these shoes turned out. It definitely gives a hippie kind of vibe and I know they will match with ANYTHING! I can’t wait to wear these all summer 🙂

IMG_5686

This DIY is a little time consuming, but it is such a fun craft to do on a relaxing day. Let me know what you lovelies think of these and if you decide to try them out yourself, please send me pictures!! I would love to see how they turned out! 🙂

Thank you so much for reading lovelies! Can’t wait to make more blog posts now that I am free from school for the summer 🙂 What are your plans for the summer? Comment below!! Love you

-Mae

6 thoughts on “DIY Tye Dye Converse!

Leave a Reply

